Mashkiiziibii Natural Resources Department

.

Mission Statement

To uphold the tribal constitution and to implement the policies and regulations duly adopted and enacted by the Bad River Tribe as they relate to management and protection of the tribal natural resources;

To provide technical assistance to the Bad River Tribe in the protection, conservation, development and management of the natural resources throughout the Bad River Reservation and its treaty fishing waters in Lake Superior, thereby insuring access to traditional pursuits by present and future members of the Tribe;

To facilitate the development of institutions of tribal self-governance to insure the continued sovereignty of the Bad River Tribe in the regulation and management of its natural resources;

To extend the mission to maintain ecosystem integrity, recognizing that all forms of life cannot be sustained long-term in an environment that has been degraded; To use the best available science and affordable technology in efforts to protect the ecosystem and the broader environment;

To infuse traditional tribal values into the daily activities of the Department and manage the natural resources with the respect traditionally given them.

Department Directory

ProgramNameTitleEmailWork CellDesk ExtensionOffice Location
Natural Resources Dept.Naomi TillisonDirectornrdirector@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-01971561Admin – NRD Department
Natural Resources Dept.Ben Connors SrDeputy Directornrdeputy@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-17281630Cultural Education Center
Natural Resources Dept.Malita SmartAdministrative AssistantDNRrecept@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-14541550Admin – NRD Department
Natural Resources Dept.Berthea OlbyOutreach CoordinatorNRDoutreach@badriver-nsn.gov1589Admin – NRD Department
BrownfieldAndrew SpychallaBrownfield Specialistbrownfields@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-44401587Admin – NRD Department
EnvironmentalJessica StrandEnvironmental Specialistenvironmental@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-88601551Admin – NRD Department
Environmental – Air QualityNathan KilgerAir Quality Specialistairquality@badriver-nsn.gov1555Admin – NRD Department
Environmental – Air QualityDaniel Wiggins Jr.Air Quality Tech / Renewable Energyair1@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-14861553Admin – NRD Department
Environmental – Climate ChangeMariah HipsherClimate Change Specialistclimate@badriver-nsn.gov1562Cultural Education Center
Environmental – GISMatt EitremGeographic Information System (GIS) Specialistgspec@badriver-nsn.gov1559Admin – NRD Department
FisheriesJacob RodmakerFisheries Specialistfisheryspecialist@badriver-nsn.gov1552Admin – NRD Department
Fisheries Ed LeosoHatchery Foreman/ Fisheries Technicianfishtech@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-58301556Hatchery
FisheriesHatchery715-682-7152
ForestryGena AbramsonForestry SpecialistForester@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-89291563Admin – NRD Department
Conservation Enforcement Brad BigboyChief Conservation Wardenchiefwarden@badriver-nsn-gov715-292-78221560Birch Hill Station
Conservation Enforcement Stanlee KmiecikConservation Warden warden@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-19021572Birch Hill Station
Conservation EnforcementTim OjaConservation WardenBRNRwarden@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-17771572Birch Hill Station
Conservation EnforcementJohn Wilmer Jr. MNRD Registration nrdreg@badriver-nsn.gov
ManoominDan PowlessManoomin Oshkaabewismanoomin@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-42441661Cultural Education Center
Private On-site Waste Treatment SystemsEugene (Squeak) BigboyPOWTS Inspectorpowts@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-87271663Admin – NRD Department
RealtyCharles Connors, SrLease Specialistlease@badriver-nsn.gov1588Admin – NRD Department
RealtyAurora ConleyLand Records In-Take Specialistlandrecords@badriver-nsn.gov1587Admin – NRD Department
Tribal Historic Preservation Office Edith LeosoTribal Historical Preservation Officerthpo@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-82861662Cultural Education Center
Tribal Historic Preservation OfficeVACANTDeputy THPOCultural Education Center
Tribal Historic Preservation OfficeMegan PowlessTHPO Assistantthpocc@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-78651618Cultural Education Center
Water ResourcesVACANTWater Resources Specialistwqs@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-89491566Admin – NRD Department
Water Resources VACANTWetlands Specialistwetlands@badriver-nsn.gov1602Admin – NRD Department
Water ResourcesLorrie SalawaterWater Regulatory Specialistwaterreg@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-13701548Admin – NRD Department
Water Resources Ed KolodziejskiWater Resources Technician/ Lab Coordinatorwrtech@badriver-nsn.gov1565Admin – NRD Department
Water Resources Nick BlanchardWater Resources Technicianwatertech@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-13401549Admin – NRD Department
WildlifeAbi FergusWildlife Specialistwildlife@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-94431554Cultural Education Center
Wildlife Kris ArbuckleWildlife Technicianwildlifetech@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-16361510Cultural Education Center
WildlifeEric AndrewsOrnithology Specialistornithology@badriver-nsn.gov 715-979-15101567Admin – NRD Department
Bakaaningoji Gaa-ondaadayBrigid WilliamsNon-local Beings Program Managernonlocalbeings@badriver-nsn.gov 715-292-86611558Cultural Education Center
Bakaaningoji Gaa-ondaadayVACANTNon-Local Beings Coordinatorinvasives@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-10711558Cultural Education Center
Bakaaningoji Gaa-ondaadayNoah ArbuckleNon-Local Beings Technician715-685-44431537Cultural Education Center
Education Dept.Lori LemieuxIndigenous Arts & Sciences CoordinatorIAS@badriver-nsn.gov1535Cultural Education Center
Legal Dept/NRD (THPO)Lisa WrazidloPolicy AnalystStaffAttny@badriver-nsn.gov1547Admin – Legal Department
Water Lab1557Admin – NRD Department
Air Site
Conference Room C1507Admin – NRD Side

Reflecting the mission statement, the Department strives for resource management which both conserves the natural resources for the future generations and provide for the needs of the present. The departments existence reflects the importance the Bad River Tribe places on its right and ability to exercise sovereignty, self-determination and self-regulation in the area of natural resource management.

Forms

Contact – Natural Resources Department

Mailing Address:PO Box 39, Odanah, WI 54861
Physical Address:72682 Maple Street, Odanah, WI 54861
Building Name:Chief Blackbird Center
Department Phone Number:715-682-7123
Department Fax Number: 715-682-7118