Mashkiiziibii Natural Resources Department

.

Mission Statement

To uphold the tribal constitution and to implement the policies and regulations duly adopted and enacted by the Bad River Tribe as they relate to management and protection of the tribal natural resources;

To provide technical assistance to the Bad River Tribe in the protection, conservation, development and management of the natural resources throughout the Bad River Reservation and its treaty fishing waters in Lake Superior, thereby insuring access to traditional pursuits by present and future members of the Tribe;

To facilitate the development of institutions of tribal self-governance to insure the continued sovereignty of the Bad River Tribe in the regulation and management of its natural resources;

To extend the mission to maintain ecosystem integrity, recognizing that all forms of life cannot be sustained long-term in an environment that has been degraded; To use the best available science and affordable technology in efforts to protect the ecosystem and the broader environment;

To infuse traditional tribal values into the daily activities of the Department and manage the natural resources with the respect traditionally given them.

Department Directory

ProgramNameTitleEmailWork CellDesk Extension
Natural Resources Dept.Naomi TillisonDirectornrdirector@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-01971561
Natural Resources Dept.Russell Corbine, Jr.Deputy Directornrdeputy@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-14871630
Natural Resources Dept.Malita SmartAdministrative AssistantDNRrecept@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-14541550
Natural Resources Dept.Berthea OlbyOutreach CoordinatorNRDOutreach@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-15121589
BrownfieldAndrew SpychallaBrownfield SpecialistBrownfields@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-44401587
EnvironmentalJessica StrandEnvironmental SpecialistEnvironmental@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-88601551
Environmental – Air QualityNathan KilgerAir Quality Specialistairquality@badriver-nsn.gov1555
Environmental – Air QualityAurora ConleyNatural Resources Aid: Outreachairoutreach@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-4698
Environmental – Air QualityDaniel Wiggins Jr.Air Quality TechnicianAir1@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-14861553
Environmental – Climate ChangeEric AndrewsClimate Change CoordinatorClimate@badriver-nsn.gov1562
Environmental – GISSuzi SmithGeographic Information System (GIS) Specialistgspec@badriver-nsn.gov1559
FisheriesJacob RodmakerFisheries Specialistfisheryspecialist@badriver-nsn.gov1552
Fisheries Ed LeosoHatchery Foreman/ Fisheries TechnicianFishTech@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-58301556
FisheriesHatchery715-682-7152
ForestryGena AbramsonForestry SpecialistForester@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-89291563
Conservation Enforcement Brad BigboyChief Conservation Wardenchiefwarden@badriver-nsn-gov715-292-78221560
Conservation Enforcement Stanlee KmiecikConservation Warden brwarden@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-19021607
Conservation EnforcementAngelina GodinezConservation WardenBRNRWarden@badriver-nsn.gov1607
Private On-site Waste Treatment SystemsEugene (Squeak) BigboyPOWTS Inspectorpowts@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-87271663
RealtyCharles Connors, SrLeasing Specialistlease@badriver-nsn.gov1588
Tribal Historic Preservation Office Edith LeosoTribal Historical Preservation OfficerTHPO@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-82861662
Tribal Historic Preservation OfficeVACANTDeputy THPOTHPOCC@badriver-nsn.gov1618
Water ResourcesMelis ArikWater Resources Specialistwqs@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-89491566
Water Resources Shea SchachameyerWetlands Specialistwetlands@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-86611602
Water Resources VACANTManoomin Specialistmanoomin@badriver-nsn.gov
Water ResourcesLorri SalawaterWater Regulatory Specialistwaterreg@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-13701548
Water Resources Ed KolodziejskiWater Resources Technician/ Lab CoordinatorwrTech@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-13221565
Water Resources Nick BlanchardWater Resources TechnicianWaterTech@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-13441549
WildlifeAbi FergusWildlife SpecialistWildlife@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-19021554
Wildlife Kris ArbuckleWildlife Technicianwildlifetech@badriver-nsn.gov715-681-16021510
Wildlife/Water ResourcesDarrell BurnsInvasives Species CoordinatorInvasives@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-10711558
Education Dept.Lori LemieuxIndigenous Arts & Sciences CoordinatorIAS@badriver-nsn.gov1535
Legal Dept/NRD (THPO)Lisa WrazidloPolicy AnalystStaffAttny@badriver-nsn.gov1547
Water Lab1557
Air Site
Conference Room C1507

Reflecting the mission statement, the Department strives for resource management which both conserves the natural resources for the future generations and provide for the needs of the present. The departments existence reflects the importance the Bad River Tribe places on its right and ability to exercise sovereignty, self-determination and self-regulation in the area of natural resource management.

Forms

Contact – Natural Resources Department

Mailing Address:PO Box 39, Odanah, WI 54861
Physical Address:72682 Maple Street, Odanah, WI 54861
Building Name:Chief Blackbird Center
Department Phone Number:715-682-7123
Department Fax Number: 715-682-7118