Mashkiiziibii Natural Resources Department

.

Mission Statement

To uphold the tribal constitution and to implement the policies and regulations duly adopted and enacted by the Bad River Tribe as they relate to management and protection of the tribal natural resources;

To provide technical assistance to the Bad River Tribe in the protection, conservation, development and management of the natural resources throughout the Bad River Reservation and its treaty fishing waters in Lake Superior, thereby insuring access to traditional pursuits by present and future members of the Tribe;

To facilitate the development of institutions of tribal self-governance to insure the continued sovereignty of the Bad River Tribe in the regulation and management of its natural resources;

To extend the mission to maintain ecosystem integrity, recognizing that all forms of life cannot be sustained long-term in an environment that has been degraded; To use the best available science and affordable technology in efforts to protect the ecosystem and the broader environment;

To infuse traditional tribal values into the daily activities of the Department and manage the natural resources with the respect traditionally given them.

Department Directory

ProgramNameTitleEmailWork CellDesk ExtensionOffice Location
Natural Resources Dept.Naomi TillisonDirectornrdirector@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
0197
1561Admin – NRD Department
Natural Resources Dept.VACANTDeputy Directornrdeputy@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
1728
1630Cultural Education Center
Natural Resources Dept.Malita SmartAdministrative AssistantDNRrecept@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-
1454
1550Admin – NRD Department
Natural Resources Dept.Berthea OlbyOutreach CoordinatorNRDOutreach@badriver-nsn.gov1589Admin – NRD Department
BrownfieldAndrew SpychallaBrownfield Specialistbrownfields@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-
4440
1587Admin – NRD Department
EnvironmentalJessica StrandEnvironmental Specialistenvironmental@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-
8860
1551Admin – NRD Department
Environmental – Air QualityNathan KilgerAir Quality Specialistairquality@badriver-nsn.gov1555Admin – NRD Department
Environmental – Air QualityDaniel Wiggins Jr.Air Quality Tech / Renewable Energyair1@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-
1486
1553Admin – NRD Department
Environmental – Climate ChangeVACANTClimate Change Specialistclimate@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
4556
1562Cultural Education Center
Environmental – GISSuzi SmithGeographic Information System (GIS) Specialistgspec@badriver-nsn.gov1559Admin – NRD Department
FisheriesJacob RodmakerFisheries Specialistfisheryspecialist@badriver-nsn.gov1552Admin – NRD Department
Fisheries Ed LeosoHatchery Foreman/ Fisheries Technicianfishtech@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
5830
1556Hatchery
FisheriesElise KehleCommercial Fisheries Observercommfish@badriver-nsn.gov314-302-
3421
Hatchery
FisheriesHatchery Building715-682-
7152
Hatchery
ForestryGena AbramsonForestry SpecialistForester@badriver-nsn.gov715-685-
8929
1563Admin – NRD Department
Conservation Enforcement Brad BigboyChief Conservation Wardenchiefwarden@badriver-nsn-gov715-292
-7822
1560Birch Hill Station
Conservation Enforcement Patrick ConnorsConservation Warden BRNRwarden@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-
1777
1572Birch Hill Station
Conservation EnforcementPierce MadayConservation Wardenwarden@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
2234
1572Birch Hill Station
Conservation EnforcementVACANTConservation Wardenmnrdwarden@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
7256
1572Birch Hill Station
Conservation EnforcementVACANTMNRD Registration nrdreg@badriver-nsn.gov
ManoominDan PowlessManoomin Oshkaabewismanoomin@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
4244
1661Cultural Education Center
Planning Dept. – GISMatt EitremGIS Specialistbrgis@badriver-nsn.gov Admin – Planning Department
RealtyCharles Connors, SrLease Specialistlease@badriver-nsn.gov1588Admin – NRD Department
RealtyAurora ConleyLand Records In-Take Specialistlandrecords@badriver-nsn.gov1587Admin – NRD Department
Tribal Historic Preservation Office Edith LeosoTribal Historical Preservation Officerthpo@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
8286
1662Cultural Education Center
Tribal Historic Preservation OfficeLarry “Moose” PlucinskiDeputy THPOdeputythpo@badriver-nsn.gov1618Cultural Education Center
Tribal Historic Preservation OfficeVACANTTHPO Assistantthpocc@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
7865
1618Cultural Education Center
Water ResourcesVACANTWater Resources Program Managerwqs@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
8949
1566Admin – NRD Department
Water Resources Zakkary ZanderWetlands Specialistwetlands@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
8661
1602Admin – NRD Department
Water ResourcesLorrie SalawaterWater Regulatory Specialistwaterreg@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-
1370
1548Admin – NRD Department
Water Resources Nick BlanchardWater Resources Technician/ Lab Coordinatorwrtech@badriver-nsn.gov1549Admin – NRD Department
Water Resources Mark ArbuckleWater Resources Technicianwatertech@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
8554
1565Admin – NRD Department
WildlifeTaylor Parker-GreeneWildlife Specialistwildlife@badriver-nsn.gov715-292-
9443
1554Cultural Education Center
Wildlife Kris ArbuckleWildlife Technicianwildlifetech@badriver-nsn.gov715-979-
1636
1510Cultural Education Center
WildlifeLouis LozinskiOrnithology Specialistornithology@badriver-nsn.gov 715-292-
2933
1567Admin – NRD Department
Bakaaningoji Gaa-ondaadayJacob SlatteryNon-local Beings Program Managernonlocalbeings@badriver-nsn.gov 715-979-
1510
1558Cultural Education Center
Bakaaningoji Gaa-ondaadayNoah ArbuckleNon-Local Beings Techniciannlbtech@badriver-nsn.gov 715-685-
4443
1537Cultural Education Center
Education Dept.VACANTIndigenous Arts & Sciences CoordinatorIAS@badriver-nsn.gov1535Cultural Education Center
Legal Dept/NRD (THPO)VACANTPolicy AnalystStaffAttny@badriver-nsn.gov1547Admin – Legal Department
Water Lab1557Admin – NRD Department
Conference Room C1507Admin

Reflecting the mission statement, the Department strives for resource management which both conserves the natural resources for the future generations and provide for the needs of the present. The departments existence reflects the importance the Bad River Tribe places on its right and ability to exercise sovereignty, self-determination and self-regulation in the area of natural resource management.

Forms

Contact – Natural Resources Department

Mailing Address:PO Box 39, Odanah, WI 54861
Physical Address:72682 Maple Street, Odanah, WI 54861
Building Name:Chief Blackbird Center
Department Phone Number:715-682-7123
Department Fax Number: 715-682-7118